AIVA vs Mubert: Free Downloads, Licence Limits and Paid Plans Compared (2026)
AIVA vs Mubert on free downloads, the card statement, track length and paid formats. Both make instrumental music. Formula result: AIVA 76.7, Mubert 75.0, a gap of 1.7 points.
Verdict: Choose AIVA when a free plan with no card matters most, and when a Pro licence that puts copyright with you is the goal. Choose Mubert if you need longer tracks, a 25-track monthly free allowance and WAV from the Creator plan, which is a non-commercial tier, and you read its streaming and sale limits before using a track commercially. On the formula, AIVA scores 76.7 and Mubert 75.0.
Scope of this comparison
AIVA and Mubert are the two highest-scoring tools in the register. Neither pricing page describes sung vocals, so this is a comparison of free-tier and licence terms for instrumental and background music, not of songs. Here “free” means the free tier on each vendor’s pricing page, not a trial. Every cell comes from the vendor’s own pricing page, checked on 2026-10-16.
Scorecard
| Field | AIVA | Mubert |
|---|---|---|
| Free allowance | 3 downloads a month (pricing) | 25 tracks a month and 5 downloads a month (pricing) |
| Card on free plan | “No credit card required” | Not stated on checked page |
| Free-plan licence | No monetization; credit to AIVA required | Non-commercial |
| Paid licence | Pro: you own the copyright, full monetization | Pro and Business: commercial usage labelled; disclaimer limits sale and streaming (conflict flagged for manual re-check) |
| Monthly price | Not shown (yearly billing only) | Creator $14, Pro $39 a month |
| Yearly price | Standard €11, Pro €33 a month (+VAT) | $11.69 Creator, $32.49 Pro a month |
| Longest track | 5 min 30 s on Pro | 25 min on Creator |
| Export formats | MP3 and MIDI; WAV on Pro | MP3 free; WAV and MP3 from Creator |
| Formula score | 76.7 | 75.0 |
Free allowance: few downloads, or many tracks
AIVA’s free plan allows three downloads a month, with single tracks up to three minutes. Mubert’s free plan allows 25 tracks a month and five downloads, and its own page lists fixed-length tracks for that tier. Mubert gives you more tracks to generate, while its download cap of five is the number that limits what you can keep. Read the two numbers as different limits: generation on one side, retention on the other.
Card requirement
This is where the formula separates them. AIVA’s pricing page states that no credit card is required, so it scores the top value on that input. Mubert’s checked page says nothing about a card, so it scores lower. That single statement is worth 17.5 points of the AIVA score, because the free-tier quota input carries 35 percent of the total.
Licence on the free plan and on paid tiers
Both free plans are non-commercial. AIVA’s free tier says there is no monetization and asks for credit to AIVA. Mubert’s free tier is non-commercial by label.
Paid licences differ in wording. AIVA’s Pro tier says the user owns the copyright and gets full monetization. Mubert’s Pro and Business tiers are labelled for commercial usage, but the same pricing page says tracks cannot be sold or commercially distributed, cannot be published on streaming platforms such as Spotify and Apple Music, and cannot be registered in any Content ID system. Those lines apply to every tier on the page, so a Mubert track is not a clean release asset even on Pro. We scored the commercial label, and we are reporting the disclaimer alongside it, because both are on the vendor’s page. The two statements conflict on their face. This comparison flags the Mubert licence for a manual re-check of its wording and does not resolve the conflict.
Track length and price
Mubert publishes the longest track in our register: up to 25 minutes on the Creator tier. AIVA’s Pro tier allows up to 5 minutes 30 seconds. Mubert also wins on price transparency, because it shows monthly and yearly prices for each paid tier. AIVA shows only yearly prices, €33 a month for Pro plus VAT, so its price input is lower.
Export formats
Both tools deliver WAV on a paid plan. AIVA’s free and Standard plans deliver MP3 and MIDI, and its Pro plan adds WAV. Mubert’s free plan delivers MP3, and WAV starts at Creator. Neither difference changes the formula, because both tools reach the top export value on a paid plan.
Where the 1.7-point gap comes from
AIVA scores 76.7 and Mubert 75.0. The gap comes from three inputs. AIVA gains 17.5 points from the card statement. Mubert gains about 12.8 points from track length, because its 25 minutes sits at the top of the range and AIVA’s 5 minutes 30 seconds sits near the bottom. Mubert gains 3.0 points from price transparency. Export formats tie. The net is 17.5 minus 12.8 minus 3.0, or 1.7 points in AIVA’s favour.
If you give the track-length or the price input more weight, the order changes. The method page lists the weights, so you can rerun the sum yourself.
Who each one suits
- AIVA suits someone who wants a free plan without a card, will work within three downloads a month, and needs a Pro licence where the user owns the copyright.
- Mubert suits someone who wants long background tracks and a larger monthly track count, and who will keep every release off streaming and Content ID.
Evidence and method
Sources: aiva.ai/pricing and mubert.com/pricing, both read on 2026-10-16. The scores come from the bestfreeaisonggenerator.com method, version 2026.10. Limits: this is a reading of pages, not a listening test. Mubert’s disclaimer and its commercial labels sit on the same page and were both recorded. A correction is made as a dated revision on this page and in the method’s revision log.
FAQ
Is AIVA or Mubert the better free plan?
AIVA scores higher on the formula, 76.7 against 75.0. Its free page says no credit card is required, which Mubert's checked page does not state. Mubert gives a longer track ceiling and a larger monthly track count, so the answer depends on which of those you need.
Can I release a Mubert track on a streaming platform?
Mubert's pricing page says tracks cannot be published on streaming platforms and cannot be registered in Content ID systems. The same page labels its Pro and Business tiers for commercial usage, so the disclaimer should be read as a limit on those tiers too.
Do AIVA and Mubert make sung vocals?
Neither pricing page describes sung vocals. Both are composition or background-music products, so this comparison does not score vocal quality.