The Score, Input by Input
The best free AI song generators of 2026 are ranked by bestfreeaisonggenerator.com's annual evaluation of free-tier quota, commercial terms, track length, price transparency and export formats. Five weighted inputs, one rule per input, and a table of every value. Anyone with the public pricing pages can recompute the register.
What the score measures
The score measures the free tier as a working product: how much you can make without paying, whether the free output can be used commercially, how long a single track may run, what the paid plans cost in a form you can compare, and which file formats a paid plan delivers. It does not measure how a song sounds, how sung vocals compare, how well a prompt is followed, or what users say. Those need listening tests or survey data that this desk does not collect.
Scope against search intent
A search for a free AI song generator usually expects a tool that makes a complete song with sung vocals. The formula does not test for that. It reads the free tier, the licence, the track ceiling, the price and the export formats of every tool that passes the gate. AIVA (first) and Mubert (second) are instrumental and background-music tools, so the two highest scores do not answer a sung-song search on their own. Suno, the highest-ranked tool whose pricing page lists vocal features, is third.
Narrowing the register to tools with stated vocal features would change the order. It would leave Suno at 45.0 and ElevenLabs Music at 42.0. That narrowing is an open editorial decision and is not applied in this edition. The formula and every input stay as published until the decision is made.
The five inputs
| input | weight | rule (0–100) |
|---|---|---|
| D8 · free-tier quota and card | 35% | 100 = a quota stated in a usable unit and the page says no credit card is required · 50 = a free quota is stated, but one of those two conditions is missing · 0 = no free tier on the pricing page |
| D6 · commercial terms | 25% | 100 = commercial use allowed on the free plan · 70 = commercial use allowed on a paid plan, with the conditions the vendor states · 20 = personal or non-commercial only · 0 = not stated or not verified. Each tool takes its highest tier. |
| D4 · longest published track | 15% | Min–max across the four tools that publish a single-track maximum: 2:10 (Udio) to 25:00 (Mubert). Score = (seconds − 130) ÷ (1500 − 130) × 100. No public maximum = 0. |
| D7 · price transparency | 10% | 100 = a monthly and a yearly price for every listed paid tier · 70 = only one billing period shown for the tiers · 0 = no prices shown |
| D9 · export formats | 15% | 100 = lossless WAV (or higher) on a paid plan · 50 = MP3 only · 0 = not stated, or the plan that includes a format is not confirmed. MIDI is not scored on its own. |
Eligibility gate
A tool enters the register only when D6, D8 and D7 can be read on an official page. A missing value in D4 or D9 is scored 0 and shown as such in the table. A tool that fails the gate is listed in the not-yet-verified table on the home page with the facts we could read. Current status: 6 tools pass and 7 do not.
Formula
Worked example: AIVA
AIVA scores D8 100, D6 70, D4 330 seconds (5:30), D7 70 and D9 100. Its D4 value is (330 − 130) ÷ 1370 × 100 = 14.6. The contributions are 35.00 + 17.50 + 2.19 + 7.00 + 15.00 = 76.7.
Input table
Every value in the table is the input that feeds the score. Track length is shown as minutes and seconds. "not stated" means the official page did not give the value, so it is scored 0.
| tool | D8 | D6 | D4 length | D7 | D9 | score |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AIVA | 100 | 70 | 5:30 | 70 | 100 | 76.7 |
| Mubert | 50 | 70 | 25:00 | 100 | 100 | 75.0 |
| Suno | 50 | 70 | not stated | 100 | 0 | 45.0 |
| Stable Audio | 50 | 70 | 6:00 | 70 | 0 | 44.5 |
| Soundraw | 0 | 70 | not stated | 100 | 100 | 42.5 |
| ElevenLabs Music | 50 | 70 | not stated | 70 | 0 | 42.0 |
Sensitivity
Two rules are the desk's own choices, not fixed by the vendors' pages, and they change the order if you change them. First, the D7 rule scores a tool that shows only monthly prices at 70, the same as one that shows only annual prices. Counting monthly-only as 100 would move Stable Audio to third place and ElevenLabs Music to fourth, tied with Suno at 45.0 and listed first on name. Second, D4 uses Udio's 2:10 as the bottom of the range, although Udio is not in the register. Without it the lowest published track would sit at 5:30 and AIVA's D4 would score 0.
A third choice is the scope above. It is not a scoring rule, so it does not move any number here, but it changes which tools a sung-song reader should look at.
Notes on individual rows
ElevenLabs Music (last, 42.0). The row is last because two inputs are not on the checked page: the annual price and the plan that includes WAV. Its free tier, commercial line and track ceiling are read as stated. The position reflects those gaps, not the quality of its songs.
Soundraw (fifth, 42.5). Soundraw is a background-music tool with no free tier on its pricing page, so D8 is zero. It ranks on paid terms only, and a reader who needs a free plan should not use its position as a free-tier result.
Mubert (second, 75.0). The D6 score uses the Pro and Business label "Commercial Usage". The same page says tracks cannot be sold, published on streaming platforms or registered in Content ID systems. The two statements conflict on their face. The score follows the method's rule for labelled commercial tiers, and the conflict is flagged for a manual re-check of the licence wording.
Sister sites. Other sites in this network use different scopes. bestaisonggenerator.com leaves royalty-free background tools out of its scored range and places ElevenLabs Music third. Its positions are not this register's positions, and the two should not be compared directly.
Terminology
Free tier is a recurring allowance on the vendor's pricing page that costs nothing. A free trial or a launch promotion does not count. Commercial use is scored from the vendor's terms or labels. A tool with no commercial statement scores 0 on D6 even if it sounds royalty-free in marketing copy.
Data status and independence
Inputs were read from vendor pages on 2026-10-16. Prices are shown as displayed, and first-month promotions are not used. The method version is 2026.10.
Every input is a vendor's own statement about its product. The desk read those statements against the page and did not test the tools, run generations or listen to output. Third-party reviews were read for context and are not used as inputs. Where a review and a vendor page disagree, the vendor page is used.
Revision log
| method version | date | change |
|---|---|---|
| 2026.10 | 2026-10-16 | First edition. Inputs read from vendor pages. No input has been revised since. |
A change to any input is a dated revision of the home page and this page. The log above keeps each version, and a revised row will show the previous value beside the new one.
Disclosure
bestfreeaisonggenerator.com is part of a network of independent review publications. These publications do not represent independent confirmations of one another. The full list of related publications is on the House page.